Members
& Research

How to
Apply

   
   

To learn more about a faculty member, click on his or her name

Howard Berg

Herchel Smith Professor of Physics;
Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology

Assistant:
Donna Lundberg

donna@mcb.harvard.edu

Biolabs 3063
617-495-0924

hberg@mcb.harvard.edu

admin

The motile behavior of bacteria

Michael Brenner

Gordon McKay Professor of Applied Mathematics and Applied Physics

Pierce 313
617-495-3336

brenner@deas.harvard.edu

admin

Physical mathematics

Adam E. Cohen

Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology and of Physics

Mallinckrodt M115
617-496-9466

cohen@chemistry.harvard.edu

Physical probes of biological systems

Jacques Dumais

Assistant Professor of Biology

Biolabs 1105
617-496-0751

jdumais@oeb.harvard.edu

Plant morphogenesis and mechanics

Florian Engert 

Assistant Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology

Biolabs 2073
617-495-4382

florian@mcb.harvard.edu

Synaptic plasticity: cellular mechanisms, development of functional networks and links to behaviour

Nicole Francis

Assistant Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology

Fairchild 315
617-496-9391

francis@mcb.harvard.edu

Mechanisms of epigenetic inheritance

Rachelle Gaudet

Associate Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology

Fairchild 229B
617- 495-5616

gaudet@mcb.harvard.edu

Structural biology of membrane transport

Guido Guidotti

Higgins Professor of Biochemistry

Fairchild 387
617-495-2308

guidotti@fas.harvard.edu

admin

Structure and function of membrane proteins

Missy Holbrook

Charles Bullard Professor of Forestry

Biolabs 3095  
617-496-0603

holbrook@oeb.harvard.edu

admin

Plant systems

John Hutchinson

Abbot and James Lawrence Professor of Engineering

Pierce 315
617-495-2848

hutchinson@husm.harvard.edu

admin

Solid mechanics

David Jeruzalmi

Associate Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology

Fairchild 229  
617-496-9734

dj@mcb.harvard.edu

Structural studies of nucleoprotein complexes that form at sites of DNA replication initiation

Andrew J. M. Kiruluta

Assistant Professor of Radiology
and Department of Physics

Assistant:
Jim Henle
617-495-4477

henle@fas.harvard.edu


Jefferson 252D and MGH/Fruit St. 
617-384-8138

kiruluta@physics.harvard.edu

Inverse Imaging of Cell Dynamics and Chemical Exchange

Nancy Kleckner

Herchel Smith Professor of Molecular Biology

Assistant:
Jim Henle
617-495-4477

henle@fas.harvard.edu


Fairchild 301  
617-495-4278

kleckner@fas.harvard.edu

admin

Chromosomes

Roberto Kolter

Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics

200 Longwood Ave
617- 432-1776

kolter@hms.harvard.edu

Microbial biofilms

Andres Leschziner

Assistant Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology

Fairchild 263
617-496-2717

aleschziner@mcb.harvard.edu

Structural biology of molecular machines

L.Mahadevan

Gordon McKay Professor of Applied Mathematics and Mechanics; Professor of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology; Professor of Systems Biology

Pierce 402
617-496-9599

lm@deas.harvard.edu

admin

Applied mathematics

Tom Maniatis       

Thomas H. Lee Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology

Fairchild 487
617- 495-1811

maniatis@mcb.harvard.edu

amin

Regulation of gene expression

Eric Mazur

Harvard College Professor;
Gordon McKay Professor of Applied Physics;
Professor of Physics

Pierce 233
617- 495-8729

mazur@deas.harvard.edu

admin

Nano- and bio-photonics

Daniel Needleman

Assistent Professor of Applied Physics and Assistant Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology (joint with Faculty of Arts and Sciences, Center for Systems Biology)

Alpert 541
617-432-3724

daniel_needleman@hms.harvard.edu

HMS Systems Biology

David Nelson

Professor of Physics and Applied Physics; Arthur K. Soloman Professor of Biophysics

admin

Collective effects in the physics and chemistry of condensed matter

Bence Patrik Olveczky

Assistant Professor of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology

Bio. Labs 5036
617-496-9114

olveczky@fas.harvard.edu

Faculty of Arts and Sciences

Mara Prentiss

Edward Mallinckrodt Professor of Physics

Lyman 222
617- 495-2910

prentiss@fas.harvard.edu

admin

Manipulation of matter by light and by magnetic forces

Aravi Samuel

Assistant Professor of Physics

Jefferson 349
617- 384-9435

samuel@physics.harvard.edu

admin

Neural networks

Howard Stone

Vicky Joseph Professor of Engineering and Applied Mathematics  

Pierce 308
617-495-3599

has@deas.harvard.edu

admin

Fluid dynamics

Zhigang Suo

Gordon McKay Professor of Mechanics and Materials

Pierce 309
617-495-3789

suo@deas.harvard.edu

admin

Small material structures

David Weitz

Gordon McKay Professor of Applied Physics; Professor of Physics

Pierce 231
617-496-2842

weitz@deas.harvard.edu

admin

Physics of soft condensed matter

George Whitesides

Mallinckrodt Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology

Mallinckrodt 229
617-495-9430

gwhitesides@gmwgroup.harvard.edu

admin

Surface chemistry

Xiaowei Zhuang

Associate Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Biology and of Physics

Naito 032C
617-496-9558

zhuang@chemistry.harvard.edu

admin

Single molecule biology and mechanism